Email
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
YouTube
Vimeo


Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Vimeo


 
English Language Learners/ Title III
Related Documents:
DCS District ELL Plan (revised May, 2016)
Titlle III ELA App
Additional Pages:
Elementary WIDA Can Do Descriptors
from www.wida.us
Parent Resource
Professional Resource Library
Secondary WIDA Can Do Descriptors
from www.wida.us

Stephanie Green, Coordinator
ELL Services
(662) 449-7248
stephanie.green@dcsms.org

The vision of the DeSoto County Schools English Language Learners Program is to ensure access to meaningful rigorous instruction for English Language Learners as well as provide equity for English learners while maintaining their cultural identity.

 DeSoto County Schools values the diverse backgrounds of our students and their unique contributions to the learning community. In order to develop learners who are capable of meeting the challenges of a new language and culture, DCS will support English Language Learners as they demonstrate social, cultural, and academic competence.  This will be done by creating a learning environment that:

  • Expects students to meet rigorous academic standards
  • Facilitates effective communication in English through reading, writing, speaking, and listening
  • Encourages risk taking and inquiry

 

How is ELL instruction determined?

Method Where? Which ELL students? How often?

Push-in

In the regular classroom

Students scoring level 4 or 5 on ACCESS test given in the spring

At least once each week, if needed.
 

Pull-out

In the ELL classroom

Students scoring 1, 2, or 3 on ACCESS test given in the spring

At least twice each week at the elementary level and once each week at the middle and high school levels. 

The success of the ELL student will be a group effort. It will take instructions and accommodations of the regular classroom teacher and the ELL teacher. It will take the involvement and support of the parents. With this support, ELL students will learn to take responsibility for their own language acquisition and academic success.If you have any questions or concerns, please email Stephanie Green, Coordinator at stephanie.green@dcsms.org.

DISTRICT ELL TEACHERS:

   
Ana Arancibia
Assignments:
Oak Grove Central Elementary
Walls Elementary
ana.arancibia@dcsms.org
Michael Baird
Assignments:
Hernando High
Lake Cormorant Middle

michael.baird@dcsms.org
Joy Bentley
Assignments:
Horn Lake Elementary
Southaven Elementary

joy.bentley@dcsms.org
   
 Gay Boyette
Assignments:
Lewisburg Primary
Lewisburg Elementary
Olive Branch Elementary
Olive Branch Intermediate

gay.boyette@dcsms.org
Sarah Brown
Assignments:
Horn Lake Elementary
Horn Lake Intermediate
Shadow Oaks Elementary

sarah.brown@dcsms.org
Lisa Curry
Assignments:
DeSoto Central Primary
DeSoto Central Elementary

lisa.curry@dcsms.org
     
Ralph Dixon
Assignment:
Southaven High School

ralph.dixon@dcsms.org
 Beth Ford
Assignments:
Olive Branch Middle
Olive Branch High
Lewisburg Middle
Lewisburg High

beth.ford@dcsms.org
 Jennifer Gardner
Assignments:
Hope Sullivan Elementary
Southaven Intermediate

jennifer.gardner@dcsms.org
     
Sharon Harris
Assignments:
Horn Lake Middle
Horn Lake High
Lake Cormorant Middle
Lake Cormorant High

sharon.harris@dcsms.org
April Johnson
Assignments:
Chickasaw Elementary
Pleasant Hill Elementary
april.johnson@dcsms.org
Whitney Knight
Assignments:
Greenbrook Elementary
Southaven Elementary

whitney.knight
@dcsms.org
 
Donna Lamar
Assignments:
Center Hill Elementary
Center Hill Middle
Center Hill High
Overpark Elementary

donna.lamar@dcsms.org
Carie Newton:
Assignments:
Southaven Intermediate

carie.newton@dcsms.org
Regina Rhea
Assignments:
Horn Lake Intermediate

regina.rhea@dcsms.org
 
Debbie Sides
Assignments:
Southaven Middle

debbie.sides@dcsms.org
Melinda Skinner
Assignments:
Greenbrook Elementary
Southaven Intermediate

melinda.skinner@dcsms.org
LaDonna Thomas
Assignments:
Hernando Elementary
Hernando Hills Elementary
Oak Grove Central Elementary

ladonna.thomas@dcsms.org
     
Karis Vernon
Assignments:
DeSoto Central Middle
DeSoto Central High
Hernando Middle
Hernando High
karis.vernon@dcsms.org
Dawn Waddell
Assignments:
Hope Sullivan Elementary
Shadow Oaks Elementary

dawn.waddell@dcsms.org
 Lea Wills
Assignments:
Lake Cormorant Elementary
Walls Elementary

lea.wills@dcsms.org

OUR SCHOOLS


Elementary Schools
Intermediate Schools
Middle Schools
High Schools
Alternative Schools
Career/Vocational Schools

STUDENTS & PARENTS


Calendar
Child Nutrition

Curriculum
Parent Links
Pupil Services
Student Links
Testing
Transportation
Report Bullying
Anonymous Report

EMPLOYEES


Quick Links
Continuing Ed
Human Resources
New Hire Information

Academics
Business & Finance
Testing Calendar

HELPFUL LINKS


About Us
Board Policies
Calendars
Departments
News
Job Opportunities
MS Dept. of Education
Out-of-District Tag Report

Whistleblower Form

 

ACADEMIC EDUCATION


Elementary Education
Middle School Education
High School Education
English Language Learners
Federal Programs
Gifted Education
Instructional Technology
Special Education
Special Projects
Vocational Programs

 

DCS is committed to providing a work environment that is free of discrimination. It is the policy of DCS that all applicants and employees are entitled to equal employment opportunity regardless of race, color, religion or creed, gender (includes pregnancy or related medical conditions), national origin, age, disability, veteran status or other protected characteristics as required by local, state and federal law.

PRIVACY POLICY | TERMS OF USE

Desoto County School District
5 E. South Street • Hernando, MS 38632
Phone: (662) 429-5271 • Fax: (662) 429-4198
Copyright © 2017 Desoto County School District