DCS Celebrates Record Number of National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

National Merit Semifinalists

DCS Celebrates Record Number of National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

 National Merit Semifinalists were recognized by the School Board.

     Twenty-seven DeSoto County School students have been named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists, the largest group in the history of the district.   

Center Hill High School 

     “We are so proud of the students who have been recognized as National Merit Semifinalists,” said Supt. Cory Uselton. “Through their efforts over the past four years, these students have distinguished themselves as leaders in the classroom. They are great examples of the hardworking and dedicated young people which comprise the Class of 2020.”

DeSoto Central High School 

     Supt. Uselton said the PSAT Program offered at all eight high schools has put an emphasis on helping students prepare for the PSAT/ACT tests.

Hernando High School 

     “The Homer Skelton Foundation provided the technology for these classes,” Supt. Uselton said.  “This technology, plus the hard work of our teachers and administrators, has had a great impact on students’ scores.”

Lewisburg High School 

     Over 90 percent of semifinalists nationwide are expected to attain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title, according to the National Merit website.  

Olive Branch High School 

Southaven High School 

     The DCS Board of Education recognized the Merit Semifinalists at the October recessed meeting. They are:  Center Hill High—Wyatt Edwards and William Gibson; DeSoto Central High—William Emmich, Benjamin Hamilton, Allan Herring, McKenzie House, Yousef Mahfood, Johnny Mitias, Annie Phan, Keigh Pickens, Kaitlyn Weirich, and Steven Zombirt; Hernando High—Isaac Pearl and Matthew Robinson; Lewisburg High—Matthew Drummond, Racheal Embry, Julia Huffman, Jacob Nelson, Grace Schafer, Morgan Smith, and Brad Wiersema; Olive Branch High—Benjamin Beard, Reese Myres, Jordan Smith, Slane Steen, and Jordan Wootten; Southaven High—Jared Fontenot.