“A” School District Celebration

DeSoto County Schools Principals and School Board

“A” School District Celebration

DeSoto County Schools’ 42 principals attended the event. The state superintendent said, “Leadership matters. Strong leadership is a key to having an A District.”

     DeSoto County Schools was named an "A" school district based on accountability results from the 2018-2019 school year. Only nine districts in Mississippi have achieved the "A" for the last four consecutive years.

     The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) visited all A-ranked school districts. District leaders, school board members, principals, teachers, students, and community members joined Dr. Carey Wright, State Superintendent of Education, at each location.  DeSoto Central Middle School was the gathering spot to recognize DCS.

Teacher Advisory Council members attended the celebration.

     Statewide, the number of schools and districts earning an A has more than doubled, with A-rated schools jumping from 88 to 196, and A-rated districts increasing from 14 to 31.

     “Student achievement is clearly on the rise, and I want to personally congratulate everyone in these school districts on their hard work and dedication to student learning. I look forward to visiting school districts each year, and the fact that I have so many on this year’s schedule speaks to the quality of education that our students are receiving. As schools across the state improve, our students reap the rewards of an education that better prepares them to achieve their goals,” Dr. Wright said.

The DeSoto County Schools 27 National Merit Semifinalists were in attendance to celebrate the A-rating.

      DCMS Principal Bryon Williams welcomed visitors, Supt. Cory Uselton introduced the state superintendent, and Darren Musselwhite, Mayor of Southaven, gave the community response.

     "When industry leaders visit our area, they ask about the quality of our public school system,” said Mayor Musselwhite.  “It makes a great impression when I say we have the highest possible academic rating from the Mississippi Department of Education.”